Documentary: Britain’s Adoption Scandal Breaking the Silence

It is 4am here in California, but being roused from my slumber for this news is worth the lost sleep. Women have been losing sleep over this issue for years, stifled in heartbreaking silence over the loss of their children. Alice Perman of Ronachan Films has done more than produce a documentary on the subject of forced adoptions, she has aided a movement which has finally been granted an apology by the Catholic Church. There is more work to be done, more stories to be told, more hearts to be mended. But when ITV’s “Britain’s Adoption Scandal: Breaking the Silence” airs on November 9th I’ll be among the sleepless women watching teary eyed as this long hidden history sheds another layer to be revealed to the greater public. Kudos to Alice and to the many women who have worked tirelessly for this acknowledgment and apology. I honor you and feel blessed to have played my small part.

BBC Breaking News: Catholic Church Apologizes

11 thoughts on “Documentary: Britain’s Adoption Scandal Breaking the Silence

  1. Thankyou so much to everyone who helped to bring this to the public all the hard work , at last time to grieve without felling ashamed and the public to know exactly everything that happened, I was put away in 1969 to live in a hostel run by nuns , we did kneel and do the rosary every night and ask for forgiveness, Then on to mother and baby home six. Weeks before the birth of your child.
    I have lived this journey all my life and now 64 still seems raw at times and very sad for the lost years with my daughter , so many sad and heartbreaking memories when the priest and my parents decided my fate . Heartbreaking memories when our babies were taken and we comforted each other. I am one of the lucky ones after all theses years I finally met my daughter this year and I’m in regular touch with her, so blessed and she is so happy with lovely devoted parents . Happy to be able to tell her how loved she was and still is and how I tried hard and how heartbroken I was. So hard theses days for people i.e. Young people to begin to understand.

  2. Your post made me feel very sad, but also happy that you have reunited with your daughter. I think about the mothers who were in the mother and baby home with me in 1965, every year around the time of my daughter’s birthday. I did keep my baby, though it was with disapproval from my family. The adoption circumstances of the mothers I was with, were not forced, in the way they were in Ireland or catholic homes, except by their parents and fear of coping alone. However, they were all heartbroken. It is something which the present generation, would never be able to understand as now there is no stigma attached. I hope you have many years to enjoy your daughter and help you heal from the sorrow you suffered for so long.

    • I too was in a mother-and-baby home in the early 60s but it was a home run by the Church of England. It was a happy home – apart from those mornings when the dreaded letter arrived from the adoption society giving the date of the ‘handover’ of the next baby. I am writing a memoir of those months between discovering the pregnancy and finally leaving the home but, so far, no agent has expressed interest. Probably because I say that mine is not a misery memoir although there are many poignant stories of young women who had no choice but to give up their baby. Jane H from evenmorewords.wordpress.com

  3. Deborah Orr in today’s Guardian (5th November 2016) said she did not think the Cardinal’s apology would greatly impress mothers like me (those are my words but that was the message) but of course Ms Orr may not know that our aim is to gain a government apology and thus this from the Cardinal goes a long way towards it.

  4. I to was sent away to an unmarried mothers home in Scotland in as late as 1981.My son was born in April that year and immediately taken away to be placed for adoption .Not my choice but my parents due to the stigma that was installed in them by the so called Catholic ,church .I have since then married and have three wonderful grown up sons.A few weeks ago I,met my adopted son something which I never thought would happen. It was truly amazing to finally see and hold him, but also really hard as the baby I had grieved for was a grown man and a stranger .So to me this apology comes way to late it should never have been the case that these so called ,Christians had the right to make our society treat us so badly and be allowed to take our baby’s and Rob us of living a happy life.

    • I too was in a Catholic Mother and Baby Home in 1981. I kept my Son, who is grown up now. But, my adoptive parents rejected me and I had a bit of a fight with the Social Worker who came there as I would not give my baby away. My adoptive Mother said ` if you don`t have an abortion you can get out` which I did, becoming homeless before I went into the Home, and then said `don’t bring it round here` meaning my baby. I was only 16.
      I have, for some years now, been in touch with my natural Mother, who had the same done to her, but her Mother made her drink gin, sit in a very hot bath and take quinine to try to abort me, and as it didn`t work, and I survived, she , my Mother, was sent to a Home, where I was born, and then made to give me away aged 2 months old. This was 1965.
      I feel very sad you could not keep your baby, my heart goes out to you, as it must have been horrendous for you, but so glad you have found each other.
      You are right, the apology is to late, and the Christians/Catholic`s/State etc. did rob Mothers of their babies. It is a national disgrace, and a breach of human rights.

      • That is so so sad,that your mother and you were treated so badly.And good on you for standing up to the system and keeping your baby even though things were not made easy for you. Every one of us has a sad story to tell and most of us could never tell, as we were not allowed to,People always say that time is a healer, but no amount of time can heal the hurt and loss that we all went through .

      • do any of you – mom’s who have posted her – think you could help me find my mother? I was born 1964 – April in a convent in Ipswich – I believe it is now closed down. I live in America – was adopted at almost 5 years of age by Americans. I did find out I was baptized 6 days after my birth…but I remember things…Anyway, I was told my mom was sent from Ireland to England to have me – I just want her to know its ok – I don’t want her to hurt – I know I cant take anyone’s pain away, but I just want to hug her –
        Thank you

  5. i was in a mother and baby home in late 1959 my daughter was born 1 month after my 15th birthday mine was a double stigma as my daughters father was black . my mum was there for me 100 percent she was turned against by our neighbours but she stuck by me i kept my daughter she is nearly 57 has five children and 6 grandchildren so that makes me a grandma and a great grandma it was hard .i dont deny but worth every thing and she knows how much we love her i never married her father my choice but we stayed friends and he was in her life untill he died in 2015

    • Thank you for this heart-warming and cheerful account. Compared to some stories we know which are so horrendous, yours shines a light. Happy Christmas to you and your family xx

Leave a Reply

